LOUISIANA NENA CHAPTER MEETING MINUTES APRIL 24, 2013 MARKSVILLE, LA.

President Kory Latiolais called the meeting to order. The pledge and prayer was led by Stephen Gordon.

Minutes

On a motion made by Jack Varnado, seconded by Stephen Gordon the minutes of the last meeting were unanimously approved.

Secretary/Treasurer's Report

Linda Lavergne reported to the membership that the current membership is 129 and prior membership was approximately 116. NENA's checking account balance is \$18,360.63. President Latiolais asked for a motion to accept the financial report, motion made by Don Smith and seconded by Jack Varnado, unanimously carried.

New Business

Symposium Committee

Tracey Hilburn reported that at the next chapter meeting they would report on the success of the symposium, feedback received, ways to improve, etc. Martha Carter asked if there was an estimate on the symposium attendees, Linda Lavergne reported attendance to be about 220.

Stephen Gordon recognized Tracey Hilburn, Linda Lavergne and the entire symposium committee for all the work they did on the symposium.

President Latiolais said there was an overwhelming response to the CTO class and there was discussion by several members about hosting another training class for the members sometime in the fall, possibly at the same time as the October chapter meetings.

Other Business

Ms. Lavergne reported that the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police annual conference is being held in Lafayette in July. These types of events would be a good opportunity to meet with Chief's and Sheriff's to let them know about APCO and NENA and how their agency could benefit from membership. Attendance at events like this, Sheriff's Association Conference, Fire Chiefs Conference had been previously been approved. Ms. Lavergne stated that she would check into obtaining a vendor booth at the Louisiana Association of Chiefs of Police Conference and that she would volunteer to man the booth along with Tracey Hilburn.

Non-Service-Initialized Phones

Ms. Hilburn informed the membership of the public notice, PS Docket No. 08-51, titled Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau Seeks to Refresh the Record Regarding Options for Addressing Non-Emergency Calls to 911 from Non-service Initialized Handsets which was released by the FCC on March 14, 2013. A copy of this public notice is attached. Ms. Hilburn informed the members present that a copy of this docket could also be found on the FCC's website.

2013 Election of Officers

President Latiolais called upon Stephen Gordon, Nominating Committee Chairman, to conduct the elections.

Secretary/Treasurer: There was 1 nomination for the position of Secretary/Treasurer and that was Linda Lavergne. The floor was opened for any other nominations for the position of Secretary/Treasurer. There being no other nominations, a motion was made by Sonya Wiley-Gremillion to close the nominations, this was seconded by Martha Carter and was unanimously approved. Linda Lavergne was elected as Secretary/Treasurer.

Vice President: Nominations for Vice President were Dennis Darouse and Steven Brignac. The floor was opened for any other nominations for the position of Vice President. There being no other nominations, a motion was made by Mary Richard to close the nominations, and was seconded by Tammy Armand. The motion was unanimously approved to close the nominations. Ballots were given to all NENA members present. The ballots were collected and votes counted and Dennis Darouse was elected as Vice President.

Sonya Wiley-Gremillion introduced Supervisory Senior Resident Agent, Rob King with the FBI office to discuss the new presidential directive from President Obama which is directing the FBI to become more involved with the various types of calls that are received in our centers, primarily bomb threats and child abduction. Agent Rob King discussed the new directive and had handouts available to those in attendance with a 24/7 contact number and additional contacts and information.

The swearing in of the new officers, President Craig Lott, Vice President Dennis Darouse and Secretary/Treasurer Linda Lavergne was done by Linda Draughn-Woloski with NENA National.

President Craig Lott presented outgoing President Kory Latiolais a plaque for his outstanding service as President.

There being no further business, a motion was made by Jack Varnado to adjourn, seconded by Sonya Wiley-Gremillion. Meeting adjourned.